• Winner of 12th Hong Kong Outstanding Students Award (1996-1997)
  • Vice-President of 11th Executive Committee (1997-1998), Hong Kong Outstanding Students’ Association

Dr. Emmy Li graduated from the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Hong Kong in 2004 with First Class Honor and attained Master in Public Health with Distinction in 2010. She was admitted as fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh in 2010 and fellow of the College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong in 2011.

Dr. Li is currently an ophthalmologist in private practice and serve as Honorary Clinical Assistant Professor at the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and Honorary Associate Consultant at the Hong Kong Eye Hospital. Dr. Li received overseas training at Moorfields Eye Hospital in London with Professor Geoffrey Rose and at Samsung Medical Centre in Seoul with Prof. Yoon-Duck Kim. Dr. Li is active in research and training, she has published more than 30 papers in international peer-reviewed journals and co-authored 4 textbooks. She has delivered more than 50 presentations and invited lectures in local and international conferences. She is now in the editorial board of the Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology, the expert board of the International Journal of Ophthalmology and serves as reviewer for various international ophthalmic journals.

Dr. Li is the President of the Hong Kong Federation of Societies for Prevention of Blindness and the Honorary Secretary of the Hong Kong Ophthalmological Society. Dr. Li has received a number of prestigious awards including Outstanding Service Award in Prevention of Blindness and Achievement Award of the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology, Hong Kong Ten Outstanding Young Persons Award, Hong Kong Humanity Award, The 5th Hong Kong Volunteer Award, Li Po Chun Charitable Trust Fund Overseas Postgraduate Scholarship, Timothy Liu Memorial Scholarship, World Ophthalmology Congress Travel Grant, Young Investigator Award, Hong Kong University Alumni Prize and John Anderson Gold Medal etc.